top of page

The Oak Tree



An oak tree grows in the courtyard of the apartment building where I live. That tree was the reason I rented this apartment.


I strategically placed a desk at the window which allows me to gaze upon it when looking for work, studying, or writing. Today, I watched as the rain came down and the wind blew upon its branches.


I also noticed its trunk and how firmly it is rooted to the ground. I imagine the trees roots as they spread, seeking nourishment and supporting smaller trees and bushes in its community. This awareness helps me remember where my center is when storms rage in my life. I have learned to breathe in and out, connecting to my trunk and visualizing my roots. I practice Mountain breath and remember that, like the oak tree, I am solid. I am stable.


The following is a practice that Thich Nhat Hanh teaches in his book titled, Touching Peace, Practicing the Art of Mindful Living.


We Are All Flowers

Breathing in, I know I am breathing in.

Breathing our, I know I am breathing out.

In/Out

Breathing in, I see myself as a flower.

Breathing out, I feel fresh

Flower/Fresh

Breathing in, I see myself as a mountain.

Breathing out, I feel solid.

Mountain/Solid.

Breathing in, I see myself as still water.

Breathing out, I reflect things as they are.

Water/Reflecting.

Breathing in, I see myself as space.

Breathing out, I feel free.

Space/Free.


May you touch the great Oak Tree that dwells within you.


Comments


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Spotify
  • Vimeo
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook Classic
bottom of page